House of Wax

Title: House of Wax

Staring Actor(s)/Actress(es): Elisha Cuthbert, Chad Michael Murray, Brian Van Holt, Paris Hilton, Jared Padalecki, Jon Abrahams, Robert Ri’chard

Genre: Thriller / Horror

Status: Out on DVD/Video

Plot Summary: A group of college students, on the way to a football game, stop and camp for the night. After having some “car trouble” some walk to a nearby town where something isn’t quite right. At the very center of the town is the world famous House of Wax where the statues look a little too real.

Review: Despite this movie getting bad reviews, I thought it was quite good. The effects were amazing and the violence/action was great. I guess the fact that it was another “college-kids-slasher” type movie reduced its quality a little but I would have to say that it was one of the better as of late. It was a re-make of an older version that I haven’t seen, but I think that this one was much more gruesome. I guess I’d have to say the only thing I really didn’t like was some of the predictability in it. I mean the whole “Let’s split up to find them faster” and when they go into a weird house and the one person always has to snoop around, and you can’t forget the ‘looking-in-the-mirror-to-see-someone-behind-you’ trick. But of course you have to have some “cheap scares” in all movies that just make you jump for the fun of it. All in all it was quite good and I would recommend it to my friends.

Rating: 8.5/10

Leave a Reply

