Pan’s Labyrinth

Title: Pan’s Labyrinth

Starring Actor(s)/Actress(es): Ivana Baquero, Maribel Verdú, Sergi López, Doug Jones, Ariadna Gil

Genre: Fantasy/Drama

Status: Out on DVD/Video

DVDPlot Summary: In 1944, in the midst of a bloody Spanish civil war, young Ofelia (Baquero) is forced to move with her mother, Carmen (Gil), to a house in the country with her military step-father, Captain Vidal (López). Ofelia discovers a labyrinth and meets a mystical faun (Jones) who reveals her true identity. Now it’s up to her to save her mother, as well as herself.

Review: This movie wasn’t much of what I expected. I’d heard good things (as it won three Academy Awards), but I was expecting more fantasy. I figured it would be a fantasy story with a real-life subplot, but it was quite the opposite. There were only a few interesting fantasy characters throughout the whole movie, which was a bit of a disappointment. Don’t get me wrong, the storyline was very in depth and quite moving, it just wasn’t what I was hoping for. I’ve never watched a full movie where I had to read subtitles throughout the whole thing (it’s a Spanish movie), but it wasn’t too bad. I’d say it was more of a drama than a fantasy story. I know some people wouldn’t like it because of the fantasy, but it doesn’t play a major part in the movie. In fact, the whole fantasy story was kind of useless, save for a few parts. The movie was good, but again, not what I was hoping for.

Rating: 3/5

Leave a Reply

