Reno 911!: Miami

Title: Reno 911!: Miami

Starring Actor(s)/Actress(es): Carlos Alazraqui, Mary Birdsong, Ben Garant, Kerri Kenney, Thomas Lennon, Wendi McLendon-Covey, Niecy Nash, Cedric Yarbrough, Patton Oswalt, Paul Rudd

Genre: Comedy/Action

Status: Out on DVD

Plot Summary: The Reno Sheriff’s Department is invited to a national police convention in Miami. Due to complications, however, it’s up to them to save the day from a terrorist attack at the convention center.

Review: I’m not an avid ‘Reno’ watcher, and this movie isn’t going to make me one. It wasn’t a bad movie, but it’s not great. I don’t want to classify it with Borat, because that is a whole other story. However, it is in that category of a movie that has its share of funny parts, but it’s hard to keep watching between those parts. To elaborate, there were a few times when I laughed out loud, but there were many times I just sat, bored. I think this is one of those ‘dumb-comedies’ that tend to attract a certain crowd while pushing away another. I guess I stand at the median of those two groups, because I love stupid movies, but this one was just not what I wanted it to be. For being a Comedy Central movie, though, the plot was surprisingly, well, surprising. There were some clever twists, but they were encompassed by the stupidity, even if it was funny. When I was finished with this movie I wasn’t sure if I liked it, or completely hated it. It was a weird feeling.

Rating: 3/5

Leave a Reply

