The Fountain

Title: The Fountain

Starring Actor(s)/Actress(es): Hugh Jackman, Rachel Weisz, Ellen Burstyn, Sean Patrick Thomas

Genre: Drama/SciFi

Status: Out on DVD

Plot Summary: Tom (Jackman) is one man devoted to one woman, Izzi (Weisz), and is willing to protect her for all eternity. His quest leads him to the Tree of Life, and to an adventure into eternity.

Review: First of all, I’d like to point out that I’ve never actually had to use the actual Plot Summary from the back of a DVD box before. That’s just to show you how much I didn’t understand this movie. In addition to that note, I don’t think I have ever been more confused while watching a movie. Only about forty-five minutes after watching this one (and reading that summary again) did it all start to come together. Now, as for the movie, it was actually very interesting. The fact that I didn’t understand it actually helped me pay more attention to details and to the movie itself. The visuals weren’t exactly ‘stunning’, but they were interesting enough to make it just plain weird. I don’t really know what else to say about this one. I would say that it’s a good one to watch, but have some people to discuss it a little afterwards. Just in case.

Rating: 4/5

Leave a Reply

