Madina Lake / Mayday Parade / Powerspace / Meriwether

Bands: Madina Lake / Mayday Parade / Powerspace / Meriwether

Date/Time: Wednesday, October 17, 2007 @ 5:30

Venue: Varsity Theater, Minneapolis, MN

Genre: Pop-Punk

PosterSummary: Well this was the first show I’ve been too since moving to Minneapolis at the beginning of October. I must say, it was a great one to start off with. All the bands were fun, good, and great with the crowds.

Meriwether: For not really hearing about this band prior to this show, I was very impressed. They fit very well with the rest of the bands. Great sound, great interaction, just a great show overall.

Powerspace: Another band that has great crowd interaction. They were very much like Meriwether, and the sounded really good. They’re crowd interaction went a little too far when they asked everyone in the front row to get onto a platform that was in front of the stage, because after that people kept getting up their for the rest of the night, making it impossible to see. But, overall, they were a pretty good band.

Mayday Parade: These guys were the reason I went to this show. I recently picked up their debut full-length album A Lesson in Romantics which is a great album. They played a lot of the good songs from that CD, along with a few from their original EP. These guys were awesome. They’re a great crowd pleaser. I got a chance to get an autograph from and picture with the lead singer who is a really nice guy from what I could see. So glad I got to see these guys.

Madina Lake: These guys were the headliners, but I think most of the people there were there for Mayday Parade. At least it looked that way to me. Their a good band, a little more heavy than the rest, but pretty good overall. I liked what I heard for the time I was there, but pretty much everyone that could fit was on the platform I spoke of earlier and it was impossible to see the band from where I was. I would’ve loved to be there the whole time if the crowd was on the floor because there would have been a couple good mosh pits, I think.
Overall, it was an awesome show. Great crowd pleasers and everyone sounded great. There wasn’t really anything that I didn’t like, other than the whole platform thing. The Varsity Theater is a great little place, and I hope there are a lot more shows like this one there.

Rating:

Comments are closed.

