The Orphanage [El Orfanato]

Title: The Orphanage [El Orfanato]

Starring Actor(s)/Actress(es): Belén Rueda, Fernando Cayo, Roger Príncep

Genre: Thriller/Drama

Status: In Theatres

Plot Summary: Laura (Rueda), her husband Carlos (Cayo) and their son Simon (Príncep) move the house where Laura grew up and decide to re-open it as an orphanage. Soon after, however, Simon starts to meet some new invisible friends which leads to a grim discovery about the history of the house.

Review: Despite the douchebag of a guy sitting next to me screaming and laughing at everything, I really enjoyed this one. It’s only the second Spanish film I’ve seen (the other being Pan’s Labyrinth) and I liked this one much better. It’s portrayed as a full-on thriller, and it has some really great thriller moments, but in the end, it’s quite a nice drama. It’s not the easiest to follow at times, in fact I’m still a little confused on what some of the scenes were about, but it still makes up for a great film. It’s overall feel reminded me of Dark Water (I don’t know why I didn’t review that one…), except much better. It’s a great movie if you want to be generally creeped out, but if you’re not a fan of reading subtitles, this one isn’t for you.

Rating: 4.5/5

Comments are closed.

