Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street

Title: Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street

Starring Actor(s)/Actress(es): Johnny Depp, Helena Bonham Carter, Alan Rickman, Timothy Spall

Genre: Musical/Thriller

Status: In Theatres

Plot Summary: Sweeney Todd (Depp) has returned to London after being put in prison for a crime he didn’t commit. Now, with a little help from a pie baker, Mrs. Lovett (Carter), Sweeney Todd plans his revenge on the judge that took his life away.

Review: I’m not really a fan of musicals, but the fact that this one was quite gruesome and funny made that all right. The “singing” was, more or less, that talk-singing you get with musicals, which I don’t really understand. I think they repeated every song at least once throughout the movie, which got a little boring, but they all had their reasons for being sung at the particular time. I went into it thinking that the story was pretty straightforward, but there were some amazing surprise twists in there that I did not see coming. All the actors did an amazing job and I think I would tell everyone to see this, even people that aren’t fans of musicals.

Rating: 4.5/5

Comments are closed.

