Why Can’t We All Just (Musically) Get Along?

Being the insanely large nerd that I have become, it’s exposed me to a lot of really awesome music, as well as some stuff I’m that I don’t find so great.  Over the past, oh, I don’t know, three years, my musical taste has evolved in ways I never would have imagined.  And I love it.  If it wasn’t for the music I listen to, my life would be so much more boring.  I mean, I’m listening to music as I’m writing this, right at this very moment (Autumn’s Monologue by From Autum to Ashes).  I also moved to Minneapolis for school back in October, and being around different people and knowing people in bands has exposed me to even more, sometimes different, music.  And over all of this time, I’ve come to realize that people can be extremely closed-minded when it comes to musical taste.

If you have, or for some ungodly reason want to, read my post The Art of Going to the Movies, you’ll know that I’m not a fan of people that try to influence their tastes on others.  This post is a similiar idea.  I’ve dealt with this in all forms for media entertainement.  From movies and television shows, to music and books.  It’s really the same thing everywhere you look.  People have their own opinions and tastes.  It’s a fairly easy concept to grab, for for some people they just don’t get it.  I love having a diverse taste in music -From Autumn To Ashes to The Matches is a pretty odd transition- and I have that same diverse taste in movies and television as well (not so much books, but I don’t read often).

The source of my research comes from a variety of sources.  One of which is the multitude of insanely stupid internet threads that get cluttered with people bitching and moaning over what “real [insert genre]” is and how people have bad taste in music, and how theirs is so much better.  The other source I want to source is the show I was at last night.  It was a show with a metal headliner, but two hardcore openers.  These two preduce two very different moshing styles.  And, of course, one band was a bit of both so the two styles got mixed and people didn’t react all that well.  I don’t understand why people can’t just let each other do their thing and let it go.

Basically, what I’m saying is that if you like a certain kind of music, and someone around you doesn’t, or vice-versa, just let it go.  It’s stupid to fight over something that’s so highly opinionated.

Thanks for taking the time.  Drop me a comment or something.

-Cory

Leave a comment