Everything is Illuminated

Title: Everything is Illuminted

Starring Actor(s)/Actress(es): Elijah Wood, Eugene Hutz, Boris Leskin

Genre: Drama / Comedy

DVD Release: March 21, 2006

Plot Summary: When his grandmother dies, Jonathan (Wood) travels to Ukraine to find the woman who helped his grandfather escape from the Nazis.

Review: This was another one that I’m not really sure where I heard it. It’s not a typical movie for me, because it’s a bit on the serious side, but it’s definitely a great movie. It’s based on the book by the same title, and now I’m really interested in seeing what the book has to offer to the story. It’s a bit confusing as to what is going on because they’re traveling throughout the Ukraine, and to be honest, it all kind of looks the same. There are also so really odd flashback type scenes that get a little messed up, but they’re not too confusing to understand after a while. Another aspect of this movie that interested me is the fact that it’s the first time I’d heard of Eugene Hutz as an actor. He’s the frontman of the “gypsy punk” band Gogol Bordello, of whom I am a huge fan of. His odd broken English is comical throughout the whole film, but he really can pull off the serious parts as well. I’m not entirely sure who I would recommend this one too. It’s a bit of an indie flick and it’s, again, more serious than I usually like, but it’s still great.

Rating: 4/5

Leave a Reply

