Memento

Title: Memento

Starring Actor(s)/Actress(es): Guy Pearce, Carrie-Anne Moss, Joe Pantoliano

Genre: Crime / Drama

DVD Release: Sept 4, 2001

Plot Summary: A man with no short term memory looks for the man who raped and murdered his wife through a series of Polariods and notes.

Review: I remember this one getting serious acclaim when it came out, but I was only 11 so serious and odd drama didn’t really catch my attention at the time. Now, however, I recognize the awesomeness of this movie. For anyone who doesn’t know, it’s shot in reverse. Not the entire movie, but the story is in chunks that are told, in line, backwards. It’s a really innovative way to tell a story. Plus, the story is really really good. I’ve never really seen anything with Guy Pearce in it, but he’s a pretty good actor. Moss and Pantoliano just remind me of The Matrix, but they still put on a great performance for this one. While watching it I decided that it’s definitely one of the most confusing movies I’ve ever seen, but once you see the end (or the beginning really) it all kind of makes sense. There really isn’t a whole lot of criticism for this one. It made a big deal back in it’s day, and it’s easily understandable why. I would definitely suggest everyone who loves ‘thinker’ movies to see it at some point.

Rating: 4.75/5

One Response to “Memento”

  1. I know I loved it when I saw it in theaters. I need to watch this one again some time. I have it on my shelf just collecting dust, but it is so great it deserves better. After watching it again and again I still love the way it works. If you like this one you should check out Following which is the first Christopher Nolan film and has a similar non-linear style. It isn’t as good, but it is interesting to see what Nolan did before he hit it big with this one.

Leave a Reply

