Progressive Nation ’08: Dream Theater / Opeth / Between the Buried and Me / Three

Bands: Dream Theater / Opeth / Between the Buried and Me / Three

Date/Time: May 12 @ 6:30

Venue: The Myth, Maplewood, MN

Genre(s): Progressive Rock / Metal

Review:

Three: Yeah, they have a number for a name. Sounds kind of lame, but they’re actually a really good band. Their vocalist plays a mean acoustic guitar, that sounded incredibly bad ass along with the rest of the band. His vocals, I would say, were a bit odd, but they fit their style nicely. Their stage space was pretty cramped because Dream Theater has such a huge set up, so I would have liked to see if they what they would have been like with more room. They’re definitely a band that I’m going to look into after this.

Between the Buried and Me: Of course, a show wouldn’t be complete without me not really liking one of the bands (unfortunately). I tried to go into it with an open mind, but these guys just made it really hard. If they played more than two songs, I honestly couldn’t tell you. They played for about 15 minutes, stopped, then played for another 15 minutes, and throughout that whole time I couldn’t tell the difference between songs. I think, maybe, if they had been on a different bill it would have been easier to get into, but they were just the odd band out last night.

Opeth: Another one of my norms at shows; not knowing enough of the band prior to the show. I really wish I knew more of their material, but they’re catalogue is so massive that it’s hard to know where to start. I’m definitely going to look into them after this. Mikael, the vocalist, is an amazing musician. Their music is great and he’s a great entertainer between songs. We even met him back by the busses later that night and he’s a pretty cool guy. Plus, he’s Swedish and, in my experiences, Swedish people are pretty goofy. They’re undoubtably one of the greatest Prog bands out there.

Dream Theater: Second time seeing DT in two years. Nice. The last time I saw them was at a Theater where I had an assigned seat, so it wasn’t nearly as fun as this time. Their stage presence is simply amazing. All of them are great at what they do, and it’s just simply a great experience. I recently got more familiar with their entire discography, so I knew almost all of the songs that they played from the get go. It makes the experience all the more enjoyable.

As if seeing Dream Theater in a good venue isn’t enough, they had to bring a (pretty) awesome group of other bands to accompany them. The night was thoroughly enjoyable, and it was definitely a great time. I know music is a lot more suggestive than movies, so it’s hard to recommend it to anyone, but it’d be cool if anyone else got into Prog Metal. It’s an awesome experience.

Rating: 4.5/5

Leave a Reply

