Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull

Title: Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull

Starring Actor(s)/Actress(es): Harrison Ford, Shia LaBeouf, Karen Allen, Cate Blanchett, John Hurt

Genre: Action / Adventure

Status: In Theaters

Plot Summary: Renowned archaeologist Dr. Henry “Indiana” Jones (Ford) is, once again, thrown into adventure when he gets caught up in a Soviet plan to discover the origin of the mythical kingdom of the Crystal Skulls.

Review: Now to start this off, I’m not that much of an Indiana Jones fan. I’ve seen the old movies, but only recently, so this one wasn’t really high on my list to see. However, it was a good movie. Harrison Ford, while definitely aging, can still pull off a great performance. He’s still got his badass, witty comments throughout the adventure, and the stunts looked really well done. There was a nice combination of old and new characters to the gang this time. It was nice to see Karen Allen come back for another go-around, reprising her role from The Raiders of the Lost Ark. And I know people were skeptical about Shia LaBeouf joining the cast, as he’s been in some questionable roles, but I think he added nicely to the cast. He was pretty much like the other side-kicks Indy has: generally useless, but randomly have something helpful to contribute with. The rest of the cast did just as well, making it a great cast overall. I also liked the fact that they were able to keep a pretty tight lid on this one. One of my downfalls is that I get so into a movie that I know too much about it before it comes out, and I ruin the experience for myself. Now, like I said, I wasn’t super excited for this one, but I do know that they kept everything very secretive, which also helped. There were some aspects of it, however, that I didn’t quite enjoy. I know that all of the Indiana Jones movies have had some kind of mystical presence involved, but this one was just a little different. I guess, for me, it just didn’t quite fit. I suppose it does if you go back and look at it again, but watching it for the first time, it doesn’t seem to work. I would like to see them finish off the five-movie plan they had back in the 80s and get that last one made to wrap it all up. My final thoughts? I would say it’s a great addition to the series. Definitely not the best of the series, but definitely on par with or close to the others.

Rating: 4.5/5

Leave a Reply

