The Strangers

Title: The Strangers

Starring Actor(s)/Actress(es): Scott Speedman, Liv Tyler

Genre: Suspense Thriller

Status: In Theaters

Release Date: May 30, 2008

Plot Summary: A couple staying in a remote vacation home are terrorized by three masked attackers.

Review: Holy freakin balls! I don’t think I’ve been that freaked out in a movie in quite a long time. I’m usually not a fan of movies that go for the “cheap scares” (as I like to call them) like loud noises and stuff that’s strategically put in to make the viewers jump, but this one suited that quite well. There were parts that were just flat out predictable, but I think I’ve seen too many movies for them to not be. It definitely didn’t hurt the movie at all. I felt like the stereotypical “black movie-goer” sitting in the theater thinking to myself “Jeez, she needs to get up.” or “Don’t go out there.” but I think that just shows how well this movie was done. It’s truly a scary movie. I’m actually a little freaked out sitting in my room right now, and that really hasn’t happened in a long time. There is a great part to this movie that I really liked, but I’m afraid it’s a bit of a spoiler so, if you want to know what it is, highlight the lines below this:

I loved the fact that they never really showed the faces of “the strangers”. It made them just that. I reminded me of the movie When a Stranger Calls because at the end of that movie, you see the guy, but it’s just a random dude. I remember seeing that movie and being mad at that detail, but now I get it. It’s really an interesting premise and I think it adds that extra bit of creepiness to the story.

Overall, I would put this, easily, in my top 5 favorite horror movies. It’s that good. And the fact that it’s based off of true events makes it all the better (I was going to read them, but I think I’ll wait…). I would probably suggest not to watch it alone in your house though.

Rating: 4.75/5

Leave a Reply

